IN SEARCH OF A PRINCE BY TONI SHILOH//BOOK REVIEW

58302844

In Search of a Prince

By: Toni Shiloh

Publisher: Bethany House

Release Date: February 1st, 2022

Genres: Christian Fiction, Romance

Pages: 352 pages

Where You Can Buy It: Amazon, Barnes and Nobles, Christian Book, Lifeway, and everywhere else books are sold!

Add On: Goodreads

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 stars

~~~

Brielle Adebayo is fully content teaching at a New York City public school and taking annual summer vacations with her mother to Martha’s Vineyard. But everything changes when her mom drops the mother of all bombshells–Brielle is a princess in the kingdom of Ọlọrọ Ilé, Africa, and she must immediately assume her royal position, since the health of her grandfather, King Tiwa Jimoh Adebayo, is failing.

Distraught by her mother’s betrayal, Brielle is further left spinning when the Ọlọrọ Ilé Royal Council brings up an old edict that states she must marry before assuming the throne or the crown will be passed to another. Uncertain who to choose from the council’s list of bachelors, she struggles with the decision along with the weight of her new role in a new country. With her world totally shaken, she must take a chance on love and brave the perils a wrong decision may bring.

Book Review

This book was so unique and I loved that!! I absolutely adored seeing the African culture on display throughout this whole book. I enjoyed how we finally are getting some diversity when it comes to settings in secret royal novels! That aspect of this book was amazing!! Also I adored how many parallels there was to both Princess Dairies movies, like yes please!! 🤩

Although I really enjoyed the setting and world, I had a very hard time just getting into the story itself. I personally did not connect with Brielle very well, but I did like how much her character grew throughout the book. I also loved seeing her faith on display. Mori was an amazing character, but I wish that we got to see some of the story from his perspective, but beggars cannot be choicers! 😂However, one thing that I completely loved about the characters was how mature they were. They were not a bunch of children who were adult age, but rather adults who acted their correct age.

I also loved all of the themes that were woven throughout this whole book, they really touched my heart! Overall, this was a very unique book that I enjoyed. However, I personally did have a hard time getting into it myself, but I do still recommend it!! Especially since, it is such a beautiful book just in terms of African culture….ugh I absolutely loved that! 😍

*FTC: JustRead and the publisher sent me a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts are my own. I was not required to write a positive review.*

Leave a comment