SHADOWS OF SWANFORD ABBEY BY JULIE KLASSEN//BOOK REVIEW

57070964

Shadows of Swanford Abbey

By: Julie Klassen

Publisher: Bethany House

Release Date: December 7th, 2021

Genres: Christian Fiction, Historical Fiction, Mystery, Romance

Pages: 416 pages

Where You Can Buy It: Amazon, Barnes and Nobles, Christian Book, Lifeway, and everywhere else books are sold!

Add On: Goodreads

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

~~~

News of her brother’s worrisome behavior spurs Miss Rebecca Lane to return home to her village. Upon her arrival, he begs her to go to nearby Swanford Abbey, a medieval monastery turned grand hotel rumored to be haunted. Feeling responsible for her brother’s desperate state, she reluctantly agrees to stay at the abbey until she can deliver his manuscript to a fellow guest who might help him get published–an author who once betrayed them.

Soon, Rebecca starts seeing strange things, including a figure in a hooded black gown gliding silently through the abbey’s cloisters at night. For all its renovations and veneer of luxury, the ancient foundations seem to echo with whispers of the past–including her own. For there she encounters Sir Frederick–baronet, magistrate, and former neighbor–who long ago broke her heart. Now a handsome widower of thirty-five, he is trying to overcome a past betrayal of his own.

When the famous author is found dead, Sir Frederick makes inquiries and quickly discovers that several people held grudges against the author, including Miss Lane and her brother. As Sir Frederick searches for answers, he is torn between his growing feelings for Rebecca and his pursuit of the truth. For Miss Lane is clearly hiding something. . . .

My Review

I was intrigued when I heard that Shadows of Swanford Abbey was a regency novel where Agatha Christie meets Jane Austen. I was pulled in from page one and had a hard time putting down this book. Thankfully, I have a 6 hour car ride back to college to finish reading this book! The mystery was written so eloquently that I had a hard time figuring out who the real culprit was. It definitely kept me on my toes like all good mysteries should.

The characters were amazing and I adored them a lot. Although I wouldn’t say they were my all time favorite cast of characters, they still were perfect for this story. I loved seeing Rebecca’s heart, loyalty, and faith shine through this book. I loved seeing Frederick’s protectiveness and drive to do what is right play out throughout this novel. All the sides characters were fun to read about as well. They were never dull and kept me intrigued.

The faith aspect of this book shone through and I really enjoyed it. It wasn’t too in your face, but rather was just enough for the story.

Overall, I enjoyed this novel a lot. I am eager to read more of Ms. Klassen’s writing seeing that this was my first one written by her!

*FTC: I received this book from the publishers in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts are my own. I was NOT required to write a positive review.*

Leave a comment